Class Notes

kimberly james headshot
Kimberly James ’90
swann headshot
Stacey Swann ’05
bennett headshot
Brian Bennett '94
smith headshot
G. Braxton Smith ’10
wheeler headshot
Beverly Henry Wheeler ’96
allen headshot
Samantha Jayne Allen ’16

Dr. Johnny E. Brown ’70, ’77
Port Arthur, has written his second book, The Emerson Street Story 2: Winners Always Practice Program. Brown was the first Black student-athlete at the university in 1966. He is a former superintendent of Port Arthur ISD and currently is an adjunct professor at Lamar University.

Reece Fulgham ’82
Pacific Palisades, California, was named interim CFO for Medmen Enterprises Inc. He was previously managing director at SierraConstellation Partners. Medmen is a cannabis retailer with locations in California, Nevada, Illinois, Florida, and New York.

Tressa Barzilla ’87
Houston, has joined REjournals as vice president, sales. She previously served as director of business development for Montgomery Roth Architecture and Interior Design.

Robin Cole ’87
Greenville, South Carolina, has joined Infinity Marketing as senior director of integrated services.

Holly Williamson ’88
Houston, was named to the Texas County & District Retirement System board of trustees by Gov. Greg Abbott. Her term as trustee will expire in December 2025. She is currently a Harris County justice of the peace.

Kimberley James ’90
Corpus Christi, has been named deputy superintendent of curriculum and instruction for Corpus Christi ISD. She joined CCISD in 2014 as the founding principal of Veterans Memorial High School.

Adam E. Laubach ’93
Vancouver, British Columbia, joined the advisory board of Ynvisible Interactive Inc. Laubach is a Texas State Distinguished Alumnus.

Randall S. Meyer ’93, ’98, ’00
Victoria, has been named chief financial officer for Victoria ISD. He was previously assistant superintendent and CFO with Bloomington ISD.

Tim Richter ’93, ’04
Three Rivers, has been named principal for Three Rivers Elementary. He previously served as college and career readiness counselor for Marble Falls ISD.

Brian Bennett ’94
Cleburne, is the new dean of instruction at Hill College. He was previously program coordinator and welding instructor at Hill, a community college with its main campus in Hillsboro.

Jeff Hurta ’96
Victoria, has been named offensive coordinator for the Victoria East High School Titans.

Beverly Henry Wheeler ’96
Conway, Arkansas, has been named to the board of directors for Colleges That Change Lives, a nonprofit organization that is a leading advocate on the subject of higher education access and college choice. She is the regional director of admission for Hendrix College.

Ethan Blodgett ’99
San Antonio, joined Genesis Networks Telecom Service as senior vice president, operations.

Saumnya Lewis ’99
San Marcos, is the new principal of Miller Middle School in the SMCISD. She was previously special education coordinator for Manor ISD.

Houston Hill ’03
Austin, is one of the co-producers of “Twelve Mighty Orphans” a 2021 film starring Robert Duvall, Martin Sheen, and Luke Wilson. Hill is a co-founder of the Santa Rita Film Company.

Dr. Jodie Elder ’05
Dallas, was appointed to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors by Gov. Abbott. She will serve a term that expires on Feb. 1, 2025.

Christy Chandler ’04
Round Rock, is the new principal of Lakewood Elementary in the Belton ISD. She previously served as a principal in the Pflugerville ISD.

Stacey Swann ’05
Austin, has optioned her debut novel, Olympus, Texas, to New Regency, the production company behind films such as “Little Women,” “The Revenant,” and “Gone Girl.”

Kyle Meredith ’06
Dallas, has joined Ryan, a global tax service and software provider, as principal in the tax technology practice.

Moises Trejo ’07
Goshen, Indiana, has been named principal for Goshen Intermediate School.

Lindsey Sutton ’08
Austin, was named a partner at Novogradac, a national accounting and consulting firm. Her area of specialization is in market analysis and valuation of multifamily properties in the affordable housing world.

Oscar Uribe ’08
La Crosse, Wisconsin, is principal of Summit Environmental School. He was previously the program design coordinator at Western Technical College in La Crosse.

Dr. Alicia Hill ’09, ’18
Austin, is the new principal of Spicewood Elementary School in the Round Rock ISD. She previously served as principal of Zilker Elementary.

Chris Randolph ’09
Houston, has been named head baseball coach at Cypress Creek High School. He previously coached for Klein ISD.

Rudy Reyes ’09
Round Rock, has been named principal for Walsh Middle School in Round Rock ISD. He has served as assistant principal there since 2018.

Cade Saurage ’09
Newport Beach, California, has been named chief operating officer of Ocean Recovery, a treatment center for people with addictions and eating disorders.

Beth Singletary ’09
Houston, has joined Primary Arms Online as the soft-lines merchandising manager.

Chris Lemons ’10
Houston, recently joined the law firm of Chamberlain Hrdlicka as an associate in the commercial litigation practice.

G. Braxton Smith ’10
Houston, has joined the law firm of Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Agosto, Aziz & Stogner. Braxton graduated from South Texas College Law of Houston. While attending law school, he worked at the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas, the First Court of Appeals, and the Harris County district attorney’s office.

Rayn House ’14
Paris, has joined Century 21 Harvey Properties. She previously worked as an assistant softball coach at LeTourneau University and The University of Texas at Dallas.

Samantha Jayne Allen ’16
Atlanta, Georgia, has won the Tony Hillerman Prize, for the best debut mystery novel set in the Southwest. Allen’s book, Pay Dirt Road, will be published in 2022.

Dr. Taylor Maliska ’18
Dallas, has joined SporTherapy in Dallas. She graduated from Baylor University with a doctor of physical therapy degree.

Dr. Joseph V. Green ’19
Jarrell, has been named principal of Jarrell High School. He previously was associate principal at Lake Travis High School.